Vols to Play Kentucky, Vandy, SC Twice Per Year in Hoops

    by -

    Rick-Barnes-5The SEC announced a basketball scheduling change at the spring meetings in Destin, Fla., on Thursday, and it will result in the Vols playing two of their biggest rivals every season.

    In the updated format, every team in the SEC will play its three “permanent opponents” twice per season, while playing every other team in the SEC at least one time per year.

    The Vols have been paired with Kentucky, Vanderbilt and South Carolina as permanent opponents, restoring the opportunity to play the Wildcats twice a year after that had been removed from the schedule the past two years. The changes take place immediately. Here’s the full list of permanent opponents released by the SEC. The full schedule will be released in August.

    Alabama – Auburn / Mississippi State / LSU
    Arkansas – Missouri / Texas A&M / LSU
    Auburn – Alabama / Ole Miss / Georgia
    Florida – Kentucky / Georgia / Vanderbilt
    Georgia – South Carolina / Florida / Auburn
    Kentucky – Florida / Tennessee / Vanderbilt
    LSU – Texas A&M / Alabama / Arkansas
    Ole Miss – Mississippi State / Auburn / Missouri
    Mississippi State – Ole Miss / Alabama / South Carolina
    Missouri – Arkansas / Texas A&M / Ole Miss
    South Carolina – Georgia / Tennessee / Mississippi State
    Tennessee – Vanderbilt / Kentucky / South Carolina
    Texas A&M – LSU / Arkansas / Missouri
    Vanderbilt – Tennessee / Kentucky / Florida