Advertise with usContact UsRTI Team

Constructing the Vols’ Super Team


Dale Carter

Not only was Dale Carter a solid corner in his career as a Vol, but he was an electric kick returner as well. Carter finished his Tennessee career with nine interceptions, 10 pass break-ups, and averaged 25.7 yards per kick return with a touchdown in just two seasons of play. Carter earned All-American status in his junior season in 1990 and would have a 14-year NFL career after graduating in 1991.

Bobby Majors

Although his brother, Johnny, is more well-known among most Vol fans now, Bobby Majors was one of the best defensive backs to play for Tennessee. Majors last played for the Vols in 1971, but he still holds the school record for most interceptions in a season with 10 in 1970. Majors was an All-American in 1971 and was named an SEC Football Legend in 2011.

Eric Berry

Widely considered the greatest player to play for the Vols since the dawning of the new millennium, Eric Berry is easily one of the greatest Tennessee football players in school history. If Berry had stayed for his senior season, he would’ve broken several more school and NCAA records than he already did. Berry finished with 494 career interception return yards, just eight yards shy of passing Terrell Buckley’s NCAA record of 501 in a career. Berry was the SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 2008, was a two-time All-American and All-SEC safety, and won the Jim Thorpe award in 2009. He finished his Tennessee career with 14 interceptions (three returned for scores), 31 passes defended, 245 tackles, and 17.5 tackles for loss.

Deon Grant

Another one of the talented defenders who played on the 1998 undefeated championship team, Deon Grant was a ball-hawking safety who was voted as an All-American in his junior year in 1999 after picking off nine passes that season. He had five interceptions in his sophomore year in 1998, giving him 14 for his career. He and Eric Berry are tied for the fifth-most career interceptions in school history. Grant went on to play in the NFL for 12 seasons.

Similar Articles


One Response

  1. I would have included Bob Suffridge at OL, Dewey Warren at QB, Jack Reynolds/Jackie Walker at LB and Curt Watson at RB but that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *