Advertise with usContact UsRTI Team

Tennessee Icon Eric Berry Enshrined in College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday

Eric Berry
Eric Berry receives his Hall of Fame plaque. Photographed by Jackson McCarter/Rocky Top Insider

Tennessee icon Eric Berry was enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame in the class of 2023 on Tuesday night in Las Vegas.

The 65th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner was held at ARIA Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Berry is now the 26th former Tennessee Volunteer to earn a spot in the College Football Hall of Fame, joining memorable names such as Peyton Manning, Al Wilson, George Cafego, Johnny Majors, Reggie White, and several more. Former Vol and NFL television standout Charles Davis hosted the event in front of more than 1,600 spectators according to UT Sports.

The College Football Hall of Fame class of 2023 included 18 first-team All-American players and four legendary coaches on Tuesday night. Other marquee names from the 2023 list include Southern Cal running back Reggie Bush, Syracuse DE Dwight Freeney, Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, and Oregon running back LaMichael James.

“Just to follow in my father’s footsteps and then have my younger brothers come in and carry on the tradition and the legacy is special,” Berry said on Tuesday via UT Sports press release. “Being up here and being honored to not only represent my university but my hometown and my family, we do a great job at doing that. Having an example of the former players that came through, especially Al Wilson as well as Peyton Manning, is important. Those were the two guys who set the standard of how you perform at Tennessee. Legacy is everything.”

More from RTI: Tim Tebow: Eric Berry is ‘One of the Best’ SEC Players to Lace ‘Em Up

Berry ended his career at Tennessee from 2007-2009 as a two-time First Team All-American with 245 tackles, three sacks, 17.5 tackles for loss, 14 interceptions, 31 passes defended, and forced two fumbles.

Eric Berry was honored during halftime of the Vols’ game against Texas A&M this past season in Knoxville.

“Going in the Hall of Fame lets me know that dreams are in reach,” Berry said in a powerful video from Tennessee Athletics. “They’re always in reach. It takes hard work and dedication to reach those dreams and it takes good people to help you want to get to those dreams, too.”

Here’s a look at the Tennessee players and coaches in the College Football Hall of Fame (via UT Sports):

Tennessee All-Time College Football Hall of Famers (year inducted)
Doug Atkins, T (1985)
Eric Berry, DB (2023)
George Cafego, QB (1969)
Steve DeLong, G (1993)
Doug Dickey, Coach (2003)
Bobby Dodd, QB (1959; elected as a coach at Georgia Tech in 1993)
Nathan Dougherty, T (1967)
Frank Emanuel, LB (2004)
Beattie Feathers, B (1955)
Phillip Fulmer, Coach (2012)
Herman Hickman, G (1959)
Bob Johnson, C (1989)
Chip Kell, G (2006)
Steve Kiner, LB (1999)
Hank Lauricella, TB (1981)
Johnny Majors, TB (1987)
Peyton Manning, QB (2017)
Gene McEver, HB (1954)
John Michels, G (1996)
Ed Molinski, G (1990)
Robert R. Neyland, Coach (1956)
Bob Suffridge, G (1961)
Reggie White, DT (2002)
Al Wilson, LB (2021)
Bowden Wyatt, E (1972)
Bowden Wyatt, Coach (1997)

Here’s a look at the 2023 College Football Hall of Fame Class (via UT Sports):

2023 College Football Hall of Fame Class
Eric Berry, Tennessee DB (2007-09) 

Michael Bishop, Kansas State QB (1997-98)
Reggie Bush, Southern Cal RB (2003-05)
Monte Cater, Coach Lakeland (WI, 1981-86) and Shepherd (WV (1987-2017)
Dwight Freeney, Syracuse DE (1998-2000)
Robert Gallery, Iowa OT (2000-03)
LaMichael James, Oregon RB (2009-11)
Derrick Johnson, Texas LB (2001-04)
Paul Johnson, Coach Georgia Southern (1997-2001), Navy (2002-07), Georgia Tech (2008-18)
Bill Kollar, Montana State DT (1971-73)
Roy Kramer, Coach Central Michigan (1967-77)
Luke Kuechly, Boston College LB (2009-11)
Jeremy Maclin, Missouri KR/WR (2007-08)
Terance Mathis, New Mexico WR (1985-87, 89)
Bryant McKinnie, Miami OT (2000-01)
Corey Moore, Virginia Tech, DL (1997-99)
Mark Richt, Coach Georgia (2001-15) and Miami (2006-18)
Michael Stonebreaker, Notre Dame LB (1986, 88, 90)
Tim Tebow, Florida QB (2006-09)
Troy Vincent, Wisconsin DB (1998-91)
Brian Westbrook, Villanova RB (1997-98, 2000-01)
DeAngelo Williams, Memphis RB (2002-05)

Similar Articles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tweet Us