Advertise with usContact UsRTI Team

Butch Jones Listed on Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Watch List

Photo Credit: Mason Burgin

Butch Jones has appeared on more hot seat lists than just about any other coach this offseason. Yet despite all that, one organization believes Jones could be in store for a great 2017 season.

Jones was named to the Doddy Trophy watch list on Wednesday. The Dodd Trohpy, more commonly known as the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award, “celebrates the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity” according to their website.

And according to the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Butch Jones is one of the coaches to watch for the award this season.

Jones is listed along with 18 other head coaches on the watch list. Penn State’s James Franklin, Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh, Georgia Tech’s Paul Johnson, Auburn’s Gus Malzahn, Ohio State’s Urban Meyer, Miami’s Mark Richt, Alabama’s Nick Saban, and Clemson’s Dabo Swinney are some of the most notable names on the list.

No Tennessee head coach has ever won the trophy in the award’s over 40 years of existence. Mike MacIntyre of Colorado won the award last year, and Kirk Ferentz of Iowa won it in 2015. Nick Saban won the award in 2014, as did David Cutcliffe in 2013.

Five previous winners of the award are on this year’s preseason watch list. Bill Snyder (1998 and 2012), Chris Petersen (2010), Paul Johnson (2004), Dabo Swinney (2011) and Nick Saban (2014) have all previously won the Dodd Trophy.

Butch  Jones has never won an award as a head coach in his 10-plus years of head coaching experience.

Similar Articles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tweet Us