Advertise with usContact UsRTI Team

Two Former Vols Earn Captain Titles Entering 2023 NFL Season

Vols NFL
Former Tennessee linebacker Jalen Reeves-Maybin. Photo via Tennessee Athletics.

Two former Tennessee football players have earned the title of captain ahead of the 2023 NFL season.

Jalen Reeves-Maybin will be one of six captains for the Detroit Lions this season. The Detroit specialist joins right tackle Penei Sewell, receiver Amon-Ra St. Brown, quarterback Jared Goff, linebacker Alex Anzalone, and defensive end Charles Harris as the Lions’ six captains.

Reeves-Maybin spent the first five years of his NFL career in Detroit after being selected in the fourth round of the 2017 NFL Draft out of Tennessee. The former Volunteer signed a two-year deal with Houston prior to the 2022 season but was cut from the team this past March. Less than a week later, Reeves-Maybin was back with Dan Campbell’s Lions on a one-year contract.

Reeves-Maybin’s Lions will open the NFL season Thursday night with a big matchup against the defending Super Bowl champions Kansas City Chiefs. That game will take place at 8:20 p.m. ET on NBC.

More from RTI: Tennessee Football Preview: No. 9 Vols Open Neyland Against Austin Peay

Tennessee Titans long snapper Morgan Cox will serve as a captain in his 14th NFL season out of Tennessee. Cox was Pro Bowl selection with the Titans in 2022 and is a five-time Pro Bowl selection overall.

Cox began his career at Tennessee as a walk-on before earning a scholarship prior to the 2008 season. The Volunteer State native spent the first 11 seasons of his career in Baltimore and has been with Tennessee for the previous two. The 37-year-old is a Super Bowl Champion and a one-time First Team All-Pro selection.

The Titans’ captain selections include quarterback Ryan Tannehill, running back Derrick Henry, safety Kevin Byard, defensive lineman Jeffery Simmons, linebacker Azeez Al-Shaair, center Aaron Brewer, and long snapper Morgan Cox.

The Tennessee Titans will begin the season this Sunday on the road against New Orleans at 1:00 p.m. ET.

Similar Articles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tweet Us