Advertise with usContact UsRTI Team

Kentucky, Tennessee Lead SEC Regular Season Awards

Tennessee guard Zakai Zeigler. Photo By Andrew Ferguson/Tennessee Athletics.

With the regular season now in the rearview mirror, the SEC revealed its 2023-2024 regular-season awards on Monday afternoon.

As far as the big awards go, there were no real surprises. Tennessee guard Dalton Knecht won the SEC Player of the Year award after posting a league-best 21.4 points per game this season while South Carolina head coach Lamont Paris won the SEC Coach of the Year recognition after a solid season in which the Gamecocks were picked to finish last in the conference during the preseason.

Kentucky’s freshman class had a big spotlight with Reed Sheppard winning SEC Freshman of the Year and the Wildcats racking up three of the eight All-Freshman selections.

Tennessee’s Zakai Zeigler took home three awards on the day, tied for the most in the conference alongside Kentucky’s Reed Sheppard and Rob Dillingham. Tennessee center Jonas Aidoo was named to the Second Team All-SEC and the SEC All-Defensive team after his breakout season in Knoxville.

Kentucky finished with eight awards to lead the conference, followed by Tennessee with seven total recognitions. South Carolina, Mississippi State, and Auburn each had four awards while Florida had three and Texas A&M had two. Georgia, Alabama, Missouri, and Ole Miss each finished the day with one award.

More from RTI: Where Tennessee Basketball Ranks In AP Poll Entering SEC Tournament

Here’s a look at how the SEC’s awards from the 2023-2024 regular season were spread out amongst the teams:

Kentucky (8)

Reed Sheppard – SEC Freshman of the Year
Reed Sheppard – Second Team All-SEC
Reed Sheppard – SEC All-Freshman Team
Rob Dillingham – SEC Sixth Man of the Year
Rob Dillingham – Second Team All-SEC
Rob Dillingham – SEC All-Freshman Team
Antonio Reeves – First Team All-SEC
D.J. Wagner – SEC All-Freshman Team

Tennessee (7)

Dalton Knecht – SEC Player of the Year
Dalton Knecht – First Team All-SEC
Zakai Zeigler – SEC Defensive Player of the Year
Zakai Zeigler – First Team All-SEC
Zakai Zeigler – SEC All-Defensive Team
Jonas Aidoo – Second Team All-SEC
Jonas Aidoo – SEC All-Defensive Team

South Carolina (4)

Lamont Paris – SEC Coach of the Year
Ta’Lon Cooper – Second Team All-SEC
Meechie Johnson – Second Team All-SEC
Collin Murray-Boyles – SEC All-Freshman Team

Mississippi State (4)

Tolu Smith III – First Team All-SEC
Josh Hubbard – Second Team All-SEC
Cameron Matthews – SEC All-Defensive Team
Josh Hubbard – SEC All-Freshman Team

Auburn (4)

Johni Broome – First Team All-SEC
Johni Broome – SEC All-Defensive Team
Jaylin Williams – Second Team All-SEC
Aden Holloway – SEC All-Freshman Team

Florida (3)

Zyon Pullin – First Team All-SEC
Walter Clayton Jr. – Second Team All-SEC
Alex Condon – SEC All-Freshman Team

Texas A&M (2)

Wade Taylor IV – First Team All-SEC
Andersson Garcia – SEC All-Defensive Team

Georgia (1)

Silas Demary Jr. – SEC All-Freshman Team

Alabama (1)

Mark Sears – First Team All-SEC

Missouri (1)

Sean East II – SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Ole Miss (1)

Matthew Murrell – Second Team All-SEC

More from RTI: Everything Justin Gainey Said About Dalton Knecht’s SEC PotY Award Before the SEC Tournament

Here’s a look at how the 14 SEC teams are seeded for the upcoming SEC Tournament and when each team’s first game will be:

14. Missouri (Wednesday)
13. Vanderbilt (Wednesday)
12. Arkansas (Wednesday)
11. Georgia (Wednesday)
10. Ole Miss (Thursday)
9. Mississippi State (Thursday)
8. LSU (Thursday)
7. Texas A&M (Thursday)
6. Florida (Thursday)
5. South Carolina (Thursday)
4. Auburn (Friday)
3. Alabama (Friday)
2. Kentucky (Friday)
1. Tennessee (Friday)

For a full look at the 2023-2024 SEC Tournament bracket, click here.

Similar Articles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tweet Us