Three Vols Named To Coaches’ All-SEC Teams

    by -

    Photo Credit: Mason Burgin/RTI

    Photo Credit: Mason Burgin/RTI

    Tennessee had three players named to the Coaches’ All-SEC Team on Tuesday afternoon.

    Defensive end Derek Barnett, who led the league in sacks with 12 on the season, was UT’s lone representative on the first team. Quarterback Joshua Dobbs and return specialist Evan Berry were placed on the second team.

    Barnett becomes UT’s first First-Teamer on the defensive line since 2008 Robert Ayers in 2008.

    Alabama freshman quarterback Jalen Hurts got the first-team nod over Dobbs after guiding the Tide to a 12-0 regular season and an SEC title to go along with the No. 1 in the college football playoffs. Dobbs, however, had the best year of his career, completing 63.3% of his passes for 2,655 yards, 26 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. He also added a team-high 713 yards and nine scores on the ground.

    Berry, despite missing the final four games of the regular season with a knee injury, still finished the season with a 32.9 yard per kickoff return average, including a 100-yard touchdown against South Carolina.

    Here are the complete selections:

    First Team

    TE – Evan Engram, Ole Miss
    OL – Cam Robinson, Alabama
    OL – Dan Skipper, Arkansas
    OL – Avery Gennesy, Texas A&M
    OL – Will Clapp, LSU
    C – Ethan Pocic, LSU
    WR – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M
    WR – ArDarius Stewart, Alabama
    QB – Jalen Hurts, Alabama
    RB – Kamryn Pettway, Auburn
    RB – Derrius Guice, LSU
    AP – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

    DL – Jonathan Allen, Alabama
    DL – Derek Barnett, Tennessee
    DL – Carl Lawson, Auburn
    DL – Myles Garrett, Texas A&M
    LB – Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt
    LB – Reuben Foster, Alabama
    LB – Kendell Beckwith, LSU
    DB – Jalen Tabor, Florida
    DB – Tre’Davious White, LSU
    DB – Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
    DB – Aarion Penton, Missouri

    PK – Daniel Carlson, Auburn
    P – JK Scott, Alabama
    RS – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

    Second Team

    TE – O.J. Howard, Alabama
    OL – Braden Smith, Auburn
    OL – Will Holden, Vanderbilt
    OL – Martez Ivey, Florida
    OL – Alex Kozan, Auburn
    C – Jon Toth, Kentucky
    WR – Calvin Ridley, Alabama
    WR – Fred Ross, Mississippi State
    QB – Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee
    QB – Chad Kelly, Ole Miss*
    RB – Rawleigh Williams III, Arkansas
    RB – Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt*
    RB – Leonard Fournette, LSU*
    AP – Derrius Guice, LSU

    DL – Arden Key, LSU
    DL – Montravius Adams, Auburn
    DL – Charles Harris, Missouri
    DL – Caleb Brantley, Florida
    LB – Tim Williams, Alabama
    LB – Jarrad Davis, Florida
    LB – Jordan Jones, Kentucky
    DB – Jamal Adams, LSU
    DB – Eddie Jackson, Alabama
    DB – Quincy Wilson, Florida
    DB – Justin Evans, Texas A&M

    PK – Gary Wunderlich, Ole Miss
    P – Johnny Townsend, Florida
    RS – Evan Berry, Tennessee