Advertise with usContact UsRTI Team

Where Tennessee Baseball Stands in Latest Field of 64 Projections

Photo By Ian Cox/Tennessee Athletics

With only one more of day of baseball games until the entire field of 64 is set for the NCAA baseball tournament, D1 Baseball has released one of their final Field of 64 projections.

There hasn’t been many changes in D1’s projections over the past couple of days, especially in regards to Tennessee’s standing.

The Vols were not projected to host a regional before the SEC Tournament began. Therefore, Tennessee needed to win at least a couple of games while in Hoover. But Tennessee’s loss to Texas A&M in the opening round of the SEC Tournament shattered the Vols’ hosting chances.

Still, the Vols did enough towards the end of the regular season to earn a high two-seed, meaning their host opponent will be towards the bottom of the top-16 seeds.

See where D1 Baseball has Tennessee going for the NCAA Regionals below.

Terre Haute Regional
  1. Indiana State
  2. Tennessee
  3. Indiana
  4. Ball State

Tennessee has been projected for the Terre Haute Regional for the majority of the past week. Originally, D1 Baseball projected Wright State to be in the Terre Haute region. But in the latest projection, there is no opponent Tennessee has any recent postseason history with.

The Sycamores are the 16th overall seed in D1’s projections, meaning the Vols would have the easiest host opponent of any non-host team.

Here’s what D1 Baseball said about Indiana State:

“Indiana State holds on to our 16th hosting spot after adding a Missouri Valley Conference tournament title to its regular-season crown. Those two accomplishments along with a No. 9 RPI and a No. 4 non-conference strength of schedule should be enough to offset Indiana State’s 2-9 record against the top 50 and make the Sycamores the 16th host.”

Of the 16 projected host sites, the SEC stakes claim to seven of them: Florida (Gainesville), Arkansas (Fayetteville, AR), LSU (Baton Rouge), Vanderbilt (Nashville), Alabama (Tuscaloosa), Kentucky (Lexington) and Auburn (Auburn).

The official 16 host spots will be announced on Sunday evening following all the conference tournament championship games.

Similar Articles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tweet Us