Advertise with usContact UsRTI Team

Williams, Schofield Named to All-SEC First Team, Bone to Second Team

(Photo via Tennessee Athletics)

Tennessee forwards Grant Williams and Admiral Schofield have been named to the All-SEC first team as voted on by SEC coaches. In addition, point guard Jordan Bone was named to the All-SEC second team.

In addition to Williams being selected to the All-SEC first team, the junior was named SEC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Williams led the SEC in scoring at 19.3 points per game. He also averaged 7.7 rebounds, 3,3 assists, 1.5 blocks and 1.2 steals per game. The Charlotte, North Carolina native shot 57 percent from the field and 83 percent from the free throw line in the regular season.

Williams is just the 10th player in conference history to win SEC Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons and the first to do so since Arkansas’ Corliss Williamson did it in 1994 and 1995. He joins Bernard King and Dale Ellis as the only other Tennessee players to do so.

Early Tuesday morning, Williams was also named SEC Player of the Year by the Associated Press. He is the first Vol to earn the award since Chris Lofton won it in 2008. Williams was also an unanimous selection on the AP All-SEC first team.

As for Schofield, he was named to the All-SEC first team after averaging 16.3 points per game in the regular season – second-most on the team and fifth-most in the conference. Schofield is averaging 6.3 rebounds per game this season and 2.0 assists.

During the regular season, Schofield made a team-high 59 threes. He scored 30 points on a career-high six made threes in a win over No. 1 Gonzaga in December. Schofield was also named to the All-SEC second team by the Associated Press.

Bone was named to the All-SEC second team by both the coaches and the AP. Tennessee’s point guard leads the conference in assists per game (6.1) and ranks second in assist/turnover ratio (3.0). Bone is averaging 13.4 points per game and is shooting 47 percent from the field and 34 percent from the 3-point line.

Joining Williams and Schofield on the All-SEC first team is Kentucky’s PJ Washington, Arkansas’ Daniel Gafford, LSU’s Tremont Waters, Ole Miss’ Breein Tyree, Mississippi State’s Quinndary Weatherspoon, and South Carolina’s Chris Silva.

As for Bone, he is joined by Auburn’s Bryce Brown and Jared Harper, Georgia’s Nicolas Claxton, Kentucky’s Tyler Herro and Keldon Johnson, LSU’s Skylar Mays, and Ole Miss’ Terrence Davis on the All-SEC second team.

Following an 84-80 loss to Auburn to end the regular season, No. 8 Tennessee now has its sights set on Nashville. The Vols will begin their SEC Tournament run on Friday night around 9:30 ET as a three-seed. Tennessee’s opponent is yet to be determined, but will be one of Texas A&M, Vanderbilt, or Mississippi State.

Similar Articles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tweet Us